United Nations A/CONF.223/2024/5



Distr.: General

Original: English

Fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States

St. Johns, 27–30 May 2024 Agenda item 7 (b)

Credentials of representatives: report of the

Credentials Committee

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chair: Ms. Jane Mugafalu Kabui Waetara (Solomon Islands)

1. Rule 4 of the rules of procedure of the fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States provides that:

A Credentials Committee of nine members shall be appointed at the beginning of the Conference. Its composition shall be based on that of the Credentials Committee of the General Assembly of the United Nations at its current session. It shall examine the credentials of representatives and report to the Conference without delay.

- 2. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 27 May 2024, the Conference, in accordance with rule 4 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee having the same composition as that of the Credentials Committee of the General Assembly of the United Nations at its seventy-eighth session, namely Andorra, China, Grenada, Nigeria, the Russian Federation, Solomon Islands, Suriname, Togo and the United States of America.
- 3. The Credentials Committee held one meeting, on 29 May 2024.
- 4. The Permanent Representative of Solomon Islands to the United Nations, Jane Mugafalu Kabui Waetara, was unanimously elected Chair.
- 5. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretary-General dated 28 May 2024 on the credentials of representatives of States participating in the Conference and of the European Union. A representative of the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat made a statement relating to the memorandum, in which, among other things, she updated the memorandum to indicate credentials and communications received subsequent to its preparation.
- 6. As noted in paragraph 1 of the memorandum and in the statement relating thereto, formal credentials of representatives to the Conference, in the form required by rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the Conference, had been received as at the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee from the European Union and the





- following 48 States: Armenia, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, China, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Guyana, Holy See, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Morocco, Nauru, Nepal, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Türkiye, United States of America and Vanuatu.
- As indicated in paragraph 2 of the memorandum as updated by the statement of the representative of the Office of Legal Affairs, information concerning the appointment of representatives of States to the Conference had been communicated to the Secretary-General, as at the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, by means of a copy of formal credentials signed by the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or by means of a letter or note verbale from the ministry, embassy or mission concerned, by the following 72 States: Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cabo Verde, Canada, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Croatia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Fiji, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lesotho, Malaysia, Mauritania, Netherlands (Kingdom of the), New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Zambia and Zimbabwe.
- 8. As indicated in paragraph 3 of the memorandum, the Secretary-General had not received the formal credentials or information referred to in paragraphs 6 and 7 above from the following 77 States invited to participate in the Conference: Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Angola, Belarus, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malawi, Mali, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nicaragua, Niue, North Macedonia, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Republic of Moldova, San Marino, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, State of Palestine, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam and Yemen.
- 9. The Chair recommended that the Committee accept the credentials of the representatives of the States and of the European Union listed in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the above-mentioned memorandum, as updated, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the States referred to in paragraph 2 of the memorandum, as updated, as well as States referred to in paragraph 3 of the memorandum, where applicable, would be communicated to the Secretary-General as soon as possible.
- 10. The Chair proposed the following draft resolution for adoption by the Committee:

2/3 24-08902

"The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the States and of the European Union referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the memorandum by the Secretary-General, as updated."

- 11. The draft resolution proposed by the Chair was adopted without a vote.
- 12. The Chair then proposed that the Committee recommend to the Conference the adoption of a draft resolution entitled "Credentials of representatives to the fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States" (see para. 14 below).
- 13. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the Conference.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

14. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Conference the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Credentials of representatives to the fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States

The fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States,

Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.

24-08902